GECOM Chair assures all systems in place for June 12 Local Elections

GECOM Chair assures all systems in place for June 12 Local Elections

With Local Government Elections 10 days away, the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission, retired Justice Claudette Singh (GECOM) is reporting that all systems are in place for voting.

“All systems are in place now but commissioners have a way of raising issues and those will be dealt with in due course,” the GECOM Chairman assured.

Speaking on the sidelines of today’s voting for Disciplined Services at GDF headquarters, Justice Singh said she was pleased with the recent rulings of the High Court which cleared the way for the conduct of the local elections, and confirmed that the Elections Secretariat was operating in accordance with the Constitution and the electoral laws in preparation for those elections.

Deputy Chief Elections Officer (DCEO), Aneal Giddings, explained that while members of the Disciplined Services voted today, other citizens who are eligible to vote in the Local Government Elections, will cast their ballots on Monday, June 12.

“As it is, we have a work plan, and everything is going according to that work plan. We have certain statutory processes that have certain timelines; and we are either well in advanced of those timelines, meaning we are at a good place, or we are in keeping with the timelines that are outlined in law,” Mr Giddings explained.

The DCEO said the Elections Secretariat is currently working with the Guyana Police Force to ensure that on voting day there are sufficient security systems in place.

“We are working closely with the Guyana Police Force and the Joint Services to ensure that security is there. In law, there is to be a police officer per polling station, those things are in place. I guess logistics is what we are working on right now to ensure that everything goes smoothly and according to plan,” the Deputy Chief Elections Officer explained.

Voting will take place in 67 Local Authority Areas across the country. In the other 13 Local Authority Areas, there will be no voting, due to there being no contest, meaning, only one party is listed to participate in the elections in those areas.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login