10 new Judges to take oath of office on Wednesday

10 new Judges to take oath of office on Wednesday

The Judicial Service Commission has announced the appointment of ten new Judges, who will take their oath of office before President Irfaan Ali on Wednesday.

In a statement on Monday evening, the JSC informed that a total of 37 persons applied for the position of Judges after vacancies in the local judiciary were announced.

The ten who will be appointed include current Commissioner of Title to the Land Court, Nicola Pierre, who previously served as a Secretary to the Bar Association and is also a former Chairman of the Deeds and Commercial Registry Department. Among the other new Judges are Deputy Commissioner of the Guyana Revenue Authority, Attorney Joy Persaud-Singh, former GRA Attorney, Hessaun Sharifa-Yasin, Magistrate Sherdel Isaacs-Marcus, Magistrate Peter Hugh, Magistrate Zamilla Ally-Seepaul, Judge of the Eastern Caribbean Court, Jaqueline Josiah-Graham, and Attorney and Company Secretary of the Guyana Water Incorporated, Nigel Niles.

The Judicial Service Commission just after being appointed in August 2023, made a decision to publicly advertise the vacancies for Judges, rather than continue to follow its tradition of inviting persons to apply who it deemed fit for the position.

The JSC also recently advertised vacancies for the position of Appeal Court Judges.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login