CRICKET: Zimbabwe bat; Masakadza replaces Chigumbura

CRICKET:  Zimbabwe bat; Masakadza replaces Chigumbura

(Cricinfo)  Zimbabwe opted to bat in a must-win game against West Indies in Bulawayo. Though overhead conditions were overcast, the pitch was expected to be another good one for batting, with just a light covering of dry grass.

Both teams made changes from their previous matches – Hamilton Masakadza came in for Elton Chigumbura for Zimbabwe, while West Indies replaced the injured Shannon Gabriel and Sulieman Benn with Miguel Cummins and Devendra Bishoo.

West Indies sat four points ahead of Zimbabwe on the points table, meaning that the hosts required nothing less than a win to progress to the final with Sri Lanka. The sides’ earlier clash in this tri-series ended in a pulsating tie.

Zimbabwe: 1 Chamu Chibhabha, 2 Brian Chari, 3 Hamilton Masakadza, 4 Craig Ervine, 5 Sikandar Raza, 6 Sean Williams, 7 Peter Moor (wk), 8 Graeme Cremer (capt), 9 Donald Tiripano, 10 Tendai Chisoro, 11 Chris Mpofu.

West Indies: 1 Johnson Charles, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Kraigg Brathwaite, 4 Shai Hope (wk), 5 Jonathan Carter, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Carlos Brathwaite, 9 Ashley Nurse, 10 Devendra Bishoo, 11 Miguel Cummins

You must be logged in to post a comment Login