Hicken takes over A’ Division; Granger expresses worry

Hicken takes over A’ Division; Granger expresses worry

Controversial Senior Superintendent of Police, Clifton Hicken has been appointed as the new Commander of A’ Division which covers the largest Police district and the most populated part of the country. Hicken was the Commander of E&F Division which covers Linden during the Linden protests when the police shot and killed three protesters.

Hicken was named by a number of the eyewitnesses as one of the Police officers firing live shots at the protesters during that 2012 protest in the mining town.

In a release on Monday, the Guyana Police Force announced that Hicken who served in a number of other Divisions will immediately take over as the A’ Division Commander. He replaces the retired Assistant Police Commissioner George Vyphuis.

Leader of the Opposition David Granger told News Source that he is very concerned about the promotion of Hicken to manage the A Division. He said the Linden Commission of Inquiry made several recommendations after finding that the Police were responsible for the gunning down of the Linden protesters , but the Police Force has failed to act on the Commission’s report.

The Police Force also announced the appointment  of Senior Superintendent Leslie James as the new Crime Chief and Head of the Criminal Investigations Division of the Police Force.

SEE Police Release on Full Appointments below: 

As a result of the appointment of Mr. Seelall Persaud, DSM, as Commissioner of Police (acting), and the retirement of Assistant Commissioner George Vyphuis, DSM, the following postings of officers have been made within the Guyana Police Force with effect from April 08, 2014.
1.      Assistant Commissioner Winston Cosbert – Head Special Branch
CID Headquarters
1.      Senior Superintendent Leslie James – In Command
2.      Senior Superintendent Marlon Chapman – Second-in-Command
3.      Superintendent Brian Eastman
1.      Senior Superintendent Clifton Hicken- In Command
2.      Superintendent Dion Moore – Second-in-Command
3.      Superintendent Calvin Brutus – Traffic Officer
4.      Deputy Superintendent Khali Pareshram
5.      Detective Deputy Superintendent Michael Kingston
6.      Deputy Superintendent Wayne De Hearte
7.      W/Assistant Superintendent Althea Scipio
8.      Cadet Officer Anthony Austin
9.      Inspector Brian Lowenfield
1.   Deputy Superintendent Linden Isles
1.   Detective Superintendent Wendell Blanhum
  1.   Senior Superintendent Ian Amsterdam – In Command
2.      Superintendent Rishi Das – Second-in-Command
3.      Cadet Officer Ganesh Puran
1.      Assistant Superintendent Michael Sutton – Second-in-Command (With effect from April 21, 2014)
1.      Assistant Superintendent Rudolph Banwarie
1.      Assistant Superintendent Walter Stanton – Second-in-Command
1.       Superintendent Fazil Karimbaksh – Personal Assistant to Commissioner
2.      W/Inspector Myrna Halley
1.      Superintendent Adrian Simon – Commandant
1.      Superintendent Errol Watts – Officer-in-Charge


You must be logged in to post a comment Login