APNU and AFC recommit to no confidence support and LGE

APNU and AFC recommit to no confidence support and LGE

The Opposition Parties, A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance For Change have recommitted themselves to the no confidence motion which will be moved against the People’s Progressive Party Civic government later this  month.

Leaders and Senior Executive members of the two opposition parties held high level discussions on Wednesday where they “re-affirmed their unwavering commitment to passing the vote of no confidence against the government at the earliest sitting of the National Assembly”.

According to a release from the Alliance For Change, “the APNU strongly reiterated support for the motion of no confidence against the minority PPP/C government, which was tabled in the National Assembly by AFC’s MPs, Mr. Nagamootoo and Ms. Hughes”.

The release added that the two sides insisted that the no confidence motion should take precedence over all other matters on the parliamentary agenda when the National Assembly reconvenes this month.

The parties, which hold a majority in the National Assembly emphasized that the holding of local government elections or the setting of a date for such elections, would not deflect from or affect passage of the vote of no confidence.

The government, they maintained, is bounded by the Constitution to periodically hold local government elections, which were last held in 1994.

“Both AFC and APNU declared  their united position on the no confidence motion, and insisted that it is clear and unambiguous, and rebuffed the various sinister attempts of the PPP/C to create confusion over the issue and to divert attention from it. Both AFC and APNU have assured the Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Raphael Trotman, of their support in the execution of his official functions”, the release added.

The AFC delegation comprised Leader Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, Vice-Chairman, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, Ms. Catherine Hughes (party Whip), and General Secretary Mr. David Patterson

The APNU’s parliamentary delegation comprised its Chairman and Leader of the Opposition Brigadier (Ret’d) David Granger, Dr. Rupert Roopnarine Mr. Basil Williams (Deputy Speaker), Ms. Amna Ally (Opposition Chief Whip), Mr. Ronald Bulkan and Mr. Winston Felix .


Filed: 2nd October, 2014.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login