Police Service Commission members sworn in

Police Service Commission members sworn in

The five members who will be serving on the Police Service Commission were sworn on Thursday before President Donald Ramotar at the Office of the President. Chairman Omesh Satyanand, and members, Lloyd Smith, Harold Martin, Keith John and Carvil Duncan took their oath to serve.

Delivering brief remarks, President Donald Ramotar said that it was a fulfillment of a promise made earlier this year when he addressed the annual Police Officers’ Conference at Eve Leary. “I did say that as soon as I got the names from Parliament, I’d be ready to appoint this body and now today we have that reality”.

The Head of State reminded the new PSC members to take their oath to serve the people of Guyana, very seriously and with distinction.

In keeping with Article 212 of the Constitution, Chairman Satyanand said the body will work with this framework and administrative matters will be prioritized.  A statutory meeting is scheduled shortly, and all of the members will be updated on the work ahead.

Consultations between President Donald Ramotar and Opposition Leader, David Granger saw the parties agreeing on the reconstitution of the service commissions on August 22.

The four service commissions are: the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), Teaching Service Commission (TSC), the Public Service Commission, and the Police Service Commission.

The lives of these commissions expired over the past year and the constitutionally mandated provisions for their reconstitution have finally been completed. (GINA)

Filed: 5th September 2014

You must be logged in to post a comment Login